Gingrich’s Lame Excuse For Affair


I really don’t think this is gonna help his standing with social conservatives:

Newt Gingrich says his passion for his country contributed to his marital infidelity. In an interview posted Wednesday by The Christian Broadcasting Network, Gingrich – who recently converted to Catholicism – said he had sought God’s forgiveness for mistakes in his past.

“There’s no question at times of my life, partially driven by how passionately I felt about this country, that I worked far too hard and things happened in my life that were not appropriate,” Gingrich said.

“What I can tell you is that when I did things that were wrong, I wasn’t trapped in situation ethics, I was doing things that were wrong, and yet, I was doing them,” he said. “I found that I felt compelled to seek God’s forgiveness. Not God’s understanding, but God’s forgiveness.”

In other words, stress and the requirements of his earlier job–Speaker of the House–led him to have an extra-marital affair.

Now, this is a really poor choice of an excuse for one simple reason. The Presidency is far and away a more stressful and difficult job than Speaker of the House, so if the stress of being Speaker made him have an affair, what would the stress of being President make him do?

And, do we really wanna find out? Especially after 4 years of Obama’s blunders?

I think not, and I think a lot of other conservatives are gonna agree with me.

Tags: ,

About Conservative Wanderer

Conservative Wanderer is currently Editor-in-Chief of That's Freedom You Hear! That means anything that goes wrong can be blamed on him. Previously he was a contributor to the PJ Tatler.

One response to “Gingrich’s Lame Excuse For Affair”

  1. 49erDweet says :

    Well I, for one, love him like a brother, and to protect him against his earthly nature have decided to support him by not voting for him in 2012. What greater love hath man?

