Conservatism And The Search For Heroes


Ever since Andrew Breitbart passed away, something’s been nagging at me. I may be wrong, but it seems to me that a lot of people on the right are desperately searching for a hero to save us:

I think that desperately searching for someone else to be a hero misses the point. Whether searching for the next Breitbart or the next Reagan, it seems that too many conservatives are looking for others to save the day.

I thought it was the leftists who wanted elites to step in and change things. Of course, most leftists would think of themselves as part of the elite (what Thomas Sowell called a self-anointed elite), but generally they expect “other people” to do the hard work while they sit back and plan. Conservatives, I believe, are the ones who get their hands dirty and do what they can to fix things themselves, including the hard and dirty work.

Though the song above starts out by looking for others to be a hero (and since it’s a Christian song, a lot of it is aimed at Christ, the ultimate Hero), as you get into the lyrics another message emerges:

I gotta fight today
To live another day
Speaking my mind today
(My voice will be heard today)

I’ve gotta make a stand
But I am just a man
(I’m not superhuman)
My voice will be heard today

[snip]

I’ve got a hero
(I’ve got a hero)

Living in me

I’m gonna fight for what’s right
Today I’m speaking my mind

And if it kills me tonight

(I will be ready to die)
A hero’s not afraid to give his life

We need to stop searching for others to be the next Breitbart or the next Reagan, and instead be Breitbart ourselves, or be Reagan ourselves. We may not rise as high as they did, and we may not be able to do all the thing they did, but isn’t it a better use of our time and effort than continually searching for “someone else” to do what we are able to do ourselves?

Someday, another exceptional personality like Andrew Breitbart or Ronald Reagan will come along, which is something to look forward to. But whoever it is, their job will be a lot easier if we get to work on doing what we can do now, rather than sitting around waiting for them to appear and give us marching orders.

Christ called on His followers to take up our crosses and follow Him. Reagan asked the whole nation to be a shining city on a hill. Breitbart inspired citizen journalists like James O’Keefe. Let’s answer the call.

Tags: , , ,

About Conservative Wanderer

Conservative Wanderer is currently Editor-in-Chief of That's Freedom You Hear! That means anything that goes wrong can be blamed on him. Previously he was a contributor to the PJ Tatler.
