No Flowers For You! Woman Sued For Planting Flowers At Her Condo


I kid you not:

Kimberly Bois’ tiny front yard garden isn’t much to look at right now. But in a few weeks, it’ll be in full bloom, and every blossom will cost her dearly.

Even though she says her builder gave her permission to do a little planting, the current condo board now says she’s in violation.

They’re charging the Portsmouth, New Hampshire homeowner $50 a day for being so petal pushy. That fine has reached close to $6,000, plus the board’s legal fees.

The reason that they don’t want her planting flowers? Militant equality (emphasis added):

She even offered to pull up the flowers and pay part of the board’s legal fees a couple of weeks ago – an offer she says was refused.

The association’s bylaws don’t expressly forbid planting flowers on your property, Bois explains, nor do they explicitly allow it.

Board members have told Bois they just want all the units to look the same.

Thou shalt not have a nicer condo than anyone else! And God forbid that maybe one person planting flowers might inspire others to do the same… if The Board did not approve it, it shall not be allowed!

Tags: , , ,

About Conservative Wanderer

Conservative Wanderer is currently Editor-in-Chief of That's Freedom You Hear! That means anything that goes wrong can be blamed on him. Previously he was a contributor to the PJ Tatler.

2 responses to “No Flowers For You! Woman Sued For Planting Flowers At Her Condo”

  1. Dana Marshall says :

    This is one of the major reasons I do not live in a condo… the inability to make improvements to the property. I live in a community with a small 1/3 acre plot of property, that allows me to have my service dog run around, I can have flower boxes or veggie boxes (I like to plant things), and I have a fenced in yard. And then I have an awesome view off the cliff (yes, I said cliff) overlooking a town in the valley.

  2. deliaangel says :

    I’m not sure what to think about this one. Was this in the lease/rentor contract originally?

