Pelosi: ObamaCare Guarantees Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit Of Happiness


Yes, she actually said the biggest imposition on personal liberty in the history of this nation actually “helps to guarantee” the promises of the Declaration of Independence.

Speaking on the House floor, Pelosi called on her colleagues to remember “what our founders put forth in our founding documents, which is life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. And that is exactly what the Affordable Care Act helps to guarantee.”

Pelosi explained that the law gives people the flexibility they need to pursue these goals, since it makes it easier for them to switch jobs in order to pursue their career or family goals.

“A healthier life, the liberty to pursue happiness, free of the constraints that lack of healthcare might provide to a family,” she said. “If you want to be photographer, a writer, an artist, a musician, you can do so. If you what to start a business, if you want to change jobs, under the Affordable Care Act, you have that liberty to pursue your happiness.”

Okay, this is so nuts that it’s practically self-parodying, but I’ll do my best.

The IPAB “Death Panel” ensures that people will die because Medicare refuses to cover certain procedures… as I wrote before, Medicare currently doesn’t cover the first 90 days of kidney dialysis for people who are under 65, and that’s definitely a life-saving procedure. So much for the promise of “life.”

The ObamaCare individual mandate forces me to purchase a product I may not want; I might either want no product at all, or I might want a different product from the one the government is requiring me to purchase. Therefore, ObamaCare restricts my “liberty.”

Lastly, being forced to purchase something I may not want definitely doesn’t make me happy, and if I pursue my own happiness by either not purchasing it or purchasing something different, I’ll be fined. Thus, my “pursuit of happiness” is definitely not being guaranteed, but being interfered with.

In short, Nancy couldn’t be more wrong, but what do you expect from a lefty trying desperately to spin what’s turning out to be a tremendously unpopular policy into a success?

Tags: , ,

About Conservative Wanderer

Conservative Wanderer is currently Editor-in-Chief of That's Freedom You Hear! That means anything that goes wrong can be blamed on him. Previously he was a contributor to the PJ Tatler.
