Ryan Endorses Romney


Picking up another big endorsement, today GOP budget hawk Paul Ryan endorsed Mitt Romney.

GOP Rep. Paul Ryan, chairman of the House Budget Committee, has endorsing Mitt Romney for the Republican presidential nomination.

Ryan gave his endorsement Friday on Fox News Channel’s “Fox and Friends.”

“We vote on Tuesday here in Wisconsin,” said Ryan, R-Wisc. “Lots of my friends, family, supporters are asking me who should we vote for? I have two criteria I’m using to make my decision on Tuesday: who will make best president and who has best chance of beating Barack Obama? And in my opinion, Mitt Romney is clearly that person.”

Back in 1967, the dean of conservative commentators, William F. Buckley, was asked who he was supporting in ’68. He responded with what’s now known as the “Buckley Rule:”

I’d be for the most right, viable candidate who could win.

Using this formula, we come up with Mitt Romney. I’ve said repeatedly that he’s not my first choice, nor my second, nor even my third, but at this point he’s the most conservative candidate with a realistic shot at winning. Perry is out, Cain is out, Santorum would need a series of miracles to pull out a nomination win (with one of those miracles being that he learns to curb his tongue before making Bidenesque pronouncements), Gingrich is barely beating and in some cases losing to Ron Paul in primaries, and Paul himself has so many wacky positions that he’s all but unelectable in the general election.

It looks like Ryan is using the same rule that Buckley did all those years ago. Sad that it’s come down to a moderate governor of a blue state to be the standard bearer of the GOP, but it is what it is.

Tags: , ,

About Conservative Wanderer

Conservative Wanderer is currently Editor-in-Chief of That's Freedom You Hear! That means anything that goes wrong can be blamed on him. Previously he was a contributor to the PJ Tatler.
