Feminist Complains About Music Video Showing Woman In Combat


I thought that one of the big issues for the feminist movement was to put women in combat. Self-described feminists from “happy” to “radical” have written glowingly about putting women in uniform and in combat.

So why all the sturm und drang about this music video?

There’s Katy Perry (a woman, I believe) going into the Marines and getting into combat… at least on screen. So why is Naomi Wolf upset?

Prominent feminist Naomi Wolf, author of “The Beauty Myth” and one of many who were arrested amid the Occupy Wall Street protests last year, is urging Americans to boycott the singer, labeling her video “a total piece of propaganda for the Marines.”

“I really want to find out if she was paid by them for making it,” Wolf wrote on her Facebook page. “It is truly shameful… I would suggest a boycott of this singer whom I really liked – if you are as offended as this glorification of violence as I am.”

What has happened here is that Wolf’s mask has slipped. She’s showing that the lefty feminists (is that redundant?) aren’t pro-women-in-combat, they’re simply anti-military. The women in combat stance was just a pose that gave them a chance to bash the military, but when it comes to someone portraying women in a combat situation positively, they lose it and show their real feelings about the armed forces.

Enjoy the schadenfreude. And if Naomi Wolf ever writes that women should be allowed in combat situations, feel free to point out her hypocrisy.

By the way, Katy Perry isn’t really one of my favorites (I prefer Christian rock bands, such as Skillet), but if she keeps putting out pro-America and pro-armed-forces songs like this, she might change my mind.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Conservative Wanderer

Conservative Wanderer is currently Editor-in-Chief of That's Freedom You Hear! That means anything that goes wrong can be blamed on him. Previously he was a contributor to the PJ Tatler.

14 responses to “Feminist Complains About Music Video Showing Woman In Combat”

  1. patrickrichardson71 says :

    The fact is feminists only want women in combat in order to weaken the U.S. Military, not out of any sense of “equality.”

  2. ndjmom says :

    The video showed Katy doing a firemans carry!! How many people know how hard that is? That exercise is not about violence, it’s about rescuing people, and if anything it should be support the women in combat argument.

    I have to sons in the Marines and never hear disparaging remarks from them, or on the Marine boards, about women Marines. There is a greater respect for women Marines than the other branches. The male Marines know they go through the same training, it’s hard, it’s tough and that’s why there are so few women Marines.

    • Conservative Wanderer says :

      Personally, I’d have trouble doing a fireman’s carry. But then I have a hidden disability to excuse me.

      Thank your sons for their service on behalf of those who want to serve but can’t because of issues beyond our control. 🙂

      • ndjmom says :

        I will do that.

        I couldn’t and can’t do a firemans carry either, but it’s one of the most admired things one Marine can do for another.

        This was a quote from my youngest son after a training exercise “A good buddy is one who will fireman’s carry you through neck and chin high freezing cold water.” I talked to him later that week, he was the one being carried and he was so super motivated. “

    • onlyspartanwomen says :

      Thank you for your comment supporting women in combat, and thanks to your son for his service. As a female Army combat veteran, I do have to respectfully disagree with your statement that the Marines show more respect for their women than other branches. I’m sure the Marines show their female soldiers the utmost respect, but I can assure you, so does the Army. I was in the 3rd ID–one of the toughest Infantry divisions in the Army–and I was in awe of just how equal female soldiers were to the men. Going into the Army, I braced myself for all kinds of chauvinism, but what I found was that all anyone cared about was what kind of soldier you were. I’m not saying there weren’t still barriers or old modes of thinking or the bad sexist apples that you will find in any work environment, but what I am saying is that I found far LESS sexism in the Army than I did in ANY civilian workplace where I had previously held a job. (I was 28 when I enlisted, so I had my fill of civilian workplaces).

      I was stationed in several locations while serving in Iraq. One of those locations was a remote patrol base where I was the only female living with an artillery unit (acting as infantry) and an Iraqi Army unit. I went out on patrol with an artillery team every day. Not only did they treat me no different than anyone else on that team, but once they saw how well I did my job, they requested I be assigned to them permanently. This assignment was no joke–if I sucked at my job, I could get soldiers killed, and if the team leader thought for a second that my presence as a female was a distraction to his men, I would not have been on that team. I have heard things are different for women in other branches, but I can only speak from my own experience in the Army. I can assure you, the respect female soldiers generally receive in the Army is commendable.

      • ndjmom says :

        I’m glad to hear about your experience. It affirms what I think should happen in the military. You prove yourself, man or woman and you have the utmost respect and trust.

        I’ve been in the female minority in the agriculture field in the 1980’s, however once I proved I could hold my own around cattle and the chutes I proved my worth. It’s not always like that in the white collar fields. I know quite a few active and veterans in the army, men and women, and I think it depends on the individual and circumstance.

        Thank you so much for your service, I greatly admire all the branches, it’s something I don’t think I could have done.

        • onlyspartanwomen says :

          Thank you. I completely agree that in many ways, it’s tougher to earn that respect in the white collar fields. You would think it would be the other way around, but that hasn’t been my experience.

          I think you may be surprised what you could do if you were put into the situation:) I tell all women who say “I don’t think I could do it,” if you can give birth and raise a child–or even just raise a child without the giving birth part–you can be a soldier. Basic training has nothing on motherhood. Now that I am raising a son, I understand so much better why the women who were also moms often made exceptional soldiers: tolerance for pain–check; sleep deprivation–check; prioritize tasks–check; time management–check; stress tolerance–check; self-discipline–check!

          • ndjmom says :

            LOL, Gotcha,…the mental stuff, yea I could handle, even tolerance for pain, maybe when my body was 20 years younger it could have physically passed the test. I’m just a middle aged, pile of mush with a bad back now. Don’t think I would pass the physical exam now.

  3. Dana Marshall says :

    When I was 18, you had to register for the draft (yes, I’m showing my age… trouble is, I’m visibly disabled. BUT, I got out of it… how? Because I’m a woman. *sigh* I would have gladly served if I could have, but not possible. God had other plans for me. But you REALLY can’t tell the government that. It was fun trying to get them to ‘excuse’ me though. And I couldn’t use the “I’m in a wheelchair”, ’cause I was walking at the time… But, back in the 80’s, women didn’t serve. At least, they didn’t serve without having to put up a fight.

    • Conservative Wanderer says :

      Yep, I registered too.

      And I also called the local Navy recruiter (my late father was in the Navy), asking if there was any place for a person with my disability. Unfortunately, there wasn’t.

  4. onlyspartanwomen says :

    As a female combat veteran, I personally appreciate Katy Perry showing women serving in a positive light, and I especially appreciate her showing the women right there alongside the men, in the mud and marching with their gear on. A combat load for initial deployment is actually far heavier than what is shown in this video, and every soldier–man, woman, enlisted, and officer–is responsible for carrying his or her own load. My unit’s combat load, weapon, vest, back ruck and front loaded duffle included, was about 200lbs. Having said that, I can’t tell you how many times I have had people respond, after learning I am an Iraq veteran, with “Yeah, but you were in a safe area, right?” Or how many times my husband told a stranger when we first came home from Iraq that WE just got back, and then have that stranger shake my husband’s hand and thank him for his service.

    It is true that many women who serve–just like many men who serve–never leave the wire and never go out on the line, but many women do, and the whole debate over whether or not to “allow” women to serve in combat roles is a farce–there are female MP’s, medics, MI collectors, supply, etc., etc., etc., going out on the line every day, and people need to be made aware that women who serve do in fact SERVE.

    I would like to ask Naomi Wolf if she was equally concerned with who paid Greenday to do “Wake Me Up When September Ends,” or who paid Eminem for “Mosh.” Maybe Katy Perry was asked to do the video; maybe she came up with the idea all on her own. Who cares. There is nothing in this video that glorifies violence, unless, of course, (as you point out) you are simply anti-military. Huge props to Katy Perry for drawing attention to women who serve, and doing it in a positive light.

