West For VP? “If It Was The Right Fit,” He Says


Ahh, ’tis the season… not the Easter season, nor baseball season, ’tis Veep Speculation Season

Allen West says he’d be open to considering it:

Rep. Allen West (R-Fla.) said Friday he would join the Republican ticket as a vice presidential nominee “if it was the right fit.”

“The focus is, of course, being a good congressional representative,” West told CNN. “But if someone were to make that call to me, which I really doubt is ever going to happen, you would have to make sure that it is something that God would ordain for you, and you’d have to talk to your wife, my wife and my two daughters about. But we have always stepped up to the plate to serve our country. And if it’s the right fit, then I will do so.”

The idea, of course, is to put a good strong conservative on the ticket to counterbalance the moderate Romney. The problem is, I’m not really sure how much Sarah Palin added to John McCain’s acceptability to conservatives. I sure didn’t go into the voting booth thinking to myself, “I’m voting for them because there’s a conservative as Vice Presidential candidate,” and I’d be surprised if more than a handful did. As for West influencing Romney, well, how much do you think Biden influences Obama?

Still, I like West a lot more than some other choices he could make… like Joe Lieberman, Scott Brown, Christie Todd Whitman, and the list goes on.

Tags: , , ,

About Conservative Wanderer

Conservative Wanderer is currently Editor-in-Chief of That's Freedom You Hear! That means anything that goes wrong can be blamed on him. Previously he was a contributor to the PJ Tatler.
